牙周疾病 (深层清洁)

什么是深层清洁牙齿?

牙齿深层清洁, 也称为口香糖疗法, 这是一种非手术治疗,可以清洁牙齿,而不是常规清洁. 正式的牙科术语是牙周洁牙和牙根计划。该程序比标准清洁更广泛,因为它旨在治疗牙龈疾病并阻止其恶化。

在手术过程中, 您的牙齿卫生员会清洁牙齿, 胶线, 和牙齿的侧面. 此过程至少需要两倍的时间来制定步骤,以清除牙龈线下方直至牙齿根部的牙垢堆积. 然后,此过程称为根计划和扩展。

什么是牙周炎?

牙周炎是一种慢性感染和牙龈疾病. 细菌可以聚集在口香糖线下方的空隙和空隙中, 然后细菌释放出溶解牙齿和颌骨之间的骨组织的酸. 从而, 细菌的菌斑会堆积形成牙垢, 通常是由于口腔卫生不足和使用牙线很少.

这种牙龈疾病很常见,但大多数是可以预防的. 症状可能包括牙龈肿胀或浮肿 (感觉柔软或流血), 口臭, 口香糖脓, 牙齿松动, 痛苦的咀嚼, 和牙齿之间的新空间. 如果您发现任何症状, 让我们知道,以便我们可以帮助您在Parklane Dental寻求治疗!

标准清洗有什么区别?

标准的清洁剂在变硬并变成牙垢时无法清除斑块. 定期清洁可清除牙齿上的牙菌斑, 但牙龈线以下形成牙菌斑时会形成牙周炎. 如果不遵守常规卫生习惯和使用牙线的习惯, 您的牙龈可能显示出牙龈炎的症状. 如果不及时治疗, 这会进一步导致牙周炎。

进行X射线检查并检查您的牙龈线的袋深. 如果牙龈线太深或充满牙菌斑, 标准清洁将无法完成工作. 标准清洁的目标是常规的, 预防性维护 (就像您的年度健康检查一样!) 深度清洁的目的是阻止牙周疾病的发展。

我真的需要吗?

根据牙龈线的独特牙齿状况,只有您的牙科团队才能确定告诉您. 如果不及时治疗, 牙周病医生最终会导致牙齿脱落. 作为常规清洁剂,无法去除硬化的牙垢, 牙龈线将继续消退,牙齿将暴露在外, 导致神经痛和斑块进一步积聚。

患者对牙齿清洁的反应非常好. 牙齿深层清洁通常可以在一次访问Parklane Dental时完成. 然而, 如果您的口腔出现麻烦点或牙龈疾病可能很普遍, 我们的牙科团队通常会在每次预约时在您嘴巴的一侧工作.

如果你有任何问题, 下次预约时请随时与我们联系!

我要如何准备?

深层清洁可能会导致轻微不适, 所以博士. To和您的牙科团队在这里将使用局部麻醉药来使您感觉更舒适. 让我们知道您正在服用哪种药物,以便我们最好地适应您的需求 健康史. 手术后牙齿可能很敏感, 这是正常的. 如果情况没有改善,请给我们打电话!

深层清洁后, 您在Parklane Dental的卫生员将根据您独特的牙齿状况分享家庭护理说明. 您很可能会得到牙周维护的随访预约,以检查您的状况. 通常将定期清洁的频率增加到每年两次以上. 这有助于减少清洁后立即形成的斑块,以防止新感染并促进愈合。

Periodontal Disease (deep cleaning)

What is Deep Teeth Cleaning?

Dental deep cleaning, also known as gum therapy, is a non-surgical treatment that cleans out the teeth beyond a routine cleaning. The official dental term is periodontal scaling and root planning.  The procedure is more extensive than a standard cleaning because it is designed to treat gum disease and stop it from becoming worse. 

What Is Deep Cleaning?

During the procedure, your dental hygienist will clean out the tooth, gum line, and the sides of the teeth. This process requires at least twice the length of time to enact steps to remove tartar buildup down below the gum line to the root of the tooth. This process is then referred as a root planning and scaling. 

What is Periodontitis?

Periodontitis is a chronic infection and a gum disease. Bacteria can collect in the gaps abd pockets and spaces below the gum line, and then the bacteria release acids that dissolve the bone tissue between the teeth and the jawbone. Thus, the plaque from the bacteria can build up to form tartar, usually due to inadequate oral hygiene and infrequent flossing.

Gum Disease needs gum treatment!

This gum disease is common but is mostly preventable. Symptoms can include swollen or puffy gums (feeling tender or bleed easily), bad breath, pus in gum line, loose teeth, painful chewing, and new spaces between your teeth. If you notice any symptoms, let us know so we can help you seek treatment at Parklane Dental!

What is the difference with standard cleaning?

A standard cleaning can not remove plaque when it hardens and turns into tartar. A regular cleaning removes plaque on your teeth, but periodontistis is formed when plaque forms below the gum line. If regular hygiene and flossing habits are not followed, your gums may show symptoms of gingivitis. If left untreated, this can further result in peridontistis. 

An x-ray and exam is taken to read the pocket depth of your gum line. If the gum line is too deep or filled with plaque buildup, a standard cleaning will not get the job done. The goal of a standard cleaning is routine, preventative maintenance (just like your annual health checkups!) The goal of deep cleaning is to stop the progression of periodontal diseases. 

Do I really need it?

Only your dental team can tell you for sure based on your unique dental situation of your gumline. If left untreated, periodontists will eventually lead to the loss of your teeth. As a normal cleaning can not removed the hardened tartar, the gum line will continue to recede and the tooth will be exposed, leading to nerve pain and further plaque buildup. 

Patients respond really well to dental cleaning. Dental deep cleaning can often be done in a single visit to to Parklane Dental. However, if your oral condition is experiencing trouble spots or the gum disease might be widespread, our dental team will usually work on one side of your mouth per appointment.

If you have any question, do not hesitate to ask us at your next appointment!

How do I prepare?

Deep cleaning can cause slight discomfort, so Dr. To and your dental team here will use a local anesthetic to help you feel more comfortable. Let us know what medication you are taking so we can best accommodate your health history. Your teeth might be sensitive following the procedure, and this is normal. Give us a call if the situation does not improve!

After your deep cleaning, your hygienist at Parklane Dental will share home care instructions base on your unique dental situation. You will most likely be given a follow-up appointment for periodontal maintenance to check on your condition. It is common to increase the frequency of regular cleanings to more than twice a year. This is to help reduce the plaque buildup that immediately follows a cleaning to prevent new infection and promote healing.